News Ticker

October is Careers in Construction Month

Credit: Build Your Future)

Source: NCCER and Build Your Future 

Spearheaded by NCCER and Build Your Future, the eighth annual Careers in Construction Monthwill return this October. The campaign was launched to increase public awareness, inspire the next generation of craft professionals and make an impact on the perceptions of a career in construction. To date, 39 states have filed proclamation requests and are ready to begin celebrating rewarding careers and recognizing the men and women who build America. 

Although construction offers job satisfaction, lucrative salaries and high skills, it is facing a critical shortage of workers. To help build a pipeline of talent, BYF is encouraging partnerships between industry and education this CICM. 

In 2020, BYF is asking the construction industry to pledge their support and make a dedicated effort to connect with students during the week of October 19th-23rd, both virtually or in-person. 

For signing the pledge, companies will receive access to exclusive resources, including a website scavenger hunt, Tips and Tricks for Connecting with Schools guide and social media images. 

Companies will also be entered into a drawing to win one of three $5K scholarships given to the construction craft training program of their choice. More information can be found at 

BYF has also released enhanced resources for educators and industry representatives to show how rewarding a career in construction can be, including an interactive Which Craft Pro Are You? quiz, four new trading cards, and video series, such as Success Stories and Discover More. In addition, the sixth annual “I BUILT THIS!” video contest will be open for entries beginning October 1st, 2020. 

The following state have filed proclamation requests: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wisconsin. 

To learn more, visit 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.